top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLauren Wallace

The Letter


"Can you see it?

It’s right there in you.

I can see it in you, so clearly.

I know it’s hard for you to see it too.

You are a ray of light, and you will get through this.

Because, the light always shines through the darkness- always."

-Lauren Wallace


I wish I could go back in time and say the words I wrote above, to my mom. I wish, a lot of things... I remember looking around my parents house, right after my mom passed away, and trying to find things that she might have touched recently. While I was looking around, I came across a Mothers Day letter I had written to her, sitting all alone on the counter.

I broke out into tears. A letter that was once stiff, felt like a Kleenex in my hands. She had read it over, and over again, held it in her hands. There were even spots where I could see she cried while she read it. It broke my heart seeing that letter. Why? Because, for me- it showed me how much she wanted to believe the amazing things I wrote about her, but she couldn't. It hurts my heart so much when I think about that letter. Who knew a few words written down on paper- would mean so much to somebody. Who knows how much more they mean to someone- when you say those words out loud to them.

Something that I hope you take away from this story is: that you always find the courage to let those kind words fall out of your mouth, and then let them fall into someone else's heart.


"Kind words are like honey, sweet to the soul."

-Proverbs 16:24





74 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page